top of page

Say go DJ, ‘cause thats my DJ


“Now introducing Lindsey Shavers with her DJ set!!” ….. It was show time!

I took one last glance at the attentive audience. All eyes were on me. My heart beating so fast, it was finally my time to share my craft with everyone. As my hands glided across my controller, I knew I was ready. Then - one, two, three, boom. A Tribe Called Quest invaded the room.

“Can I kick it? (Yes you can!)”

Everyone was kickin’ it. Genji was grooving, my mom was doing a little two-step, and the audience was moving to the dope 90s beats. It was amazing seeing how music brought energy and life into this space. Within the first few seconds of this song, the entire atmosphere of the room changed. People moved around, laughed, ate, joked, danced, hugged, rapped, and were free. It took me being behind the DJ booth to realize truly how much joy, life, and togetherness music brings. This moment was magical. This moment showed me why music matters.

“Can I kick it? (Yes you can!)”

One of the highlights of this Music Matters event for me was collaborating with two incredible individuals in the industry, Genji Siraisi and Noel Lobley. The time I spent with Genji before the show was invaluable. His passion for the sounds and histories of all genres of music was amazing. I specifically enjoyed talking with him about DJ culture from the past and comparing that to now. I asked him what he thought of the Dj/party scene now in comparison to the Disco era and the 90s hip hop scene. I was interested in hearing what he believed was the disconnect between then and now. His response was something I had never considered. He said that during that time, people went to clubs and parties with the intention of dancing and listening to the music. He said this was even more the case due to the lack of availability of music. Often parties were the only places people could hear new music because the DJs were one of the few people with the records. Now, music is everywhere and people can stream it from nearly any location. I believe the constant availability of music is contributing to the lack of togetherness and dancing/enjoyment at parties.

I also enjoyed listening to the histories behind music. I believe people all around the world have a lot to learn from music. This form of expression enables others to be truthful and real about their personal experiences, interests, and beliefs. It promotes creativity and uniqueness while also fostering a sense of togetherness. It is something that can change a mood, uplift a spirit, invoke raw emotions, and move people to action. From Genji’s stories about the disco clubs in New York to the street DJs in cities today, they all show why music is important and why music matters.

This Music Matters event was truly something special. Not only was I able to collaborate with such a talented artist in the music industry, but I was also able to make my debut as a DJ. And, in the amazing words of Lil Wayne, everyone can now chant, “Say go DJ, ‘cause that my DJ” whenever they see me with my headphones and controller!


bottom of page